I started cloth diapering today.

The detergent arrived (Crunchy Clean… thanks for the fast shipping, Banana Peels!) and so i was finally able to prep my diapers. I couldn’t find much online about prep… so i just washed/rinsed/rinsed. I have two Katydids and one Fuzzibunz so far (more in the mail!). I fell in love with the Katydids online, but I think I might actually prefer Fuzzibunz. Time will tell.

Comparison

I loved how Katydid sewed a label (all four sides) onto the inserts so it was easy to figure out which was which (fuzzibunz had a hanging tag like you have with everything).

The snaps on the Katydid were very easy to figure out, but the Fuzzibunz wasn’t, as it was a triangular setup.

The Fuzzibunz inside was definitely softer!

And the major difference for me? The rise. I had no trouble putting the first Katydid on (medium setting), and fortunately I read Beccalynn’s blogpost (link below) about the sizing of the thigh elastic before I put on the Fuzzibunz. I didn’t fully read the instructions (oops!) and assumed that “2” meant medium. I adjusted it to “3”, and it fit well when I put it on. But then when my husband put on the  last diaper of the day, the other Katydid, we had troubles with the snaps, particularly the rise snaps. They kept unsnapping. :-/ I think I might have put the insert in wrong, so it might have been pushing against the rise snaps.

So, I think I really prefer the elastic adjusting of the thigh versus the snap rise, for one-size diaper. I tossed the diapers into the washer, and hopefully I’ll have them ready for another trial tomorrow, maybe try a night-time.

And now I want more Fuzzibunz!  Well, whaddya know. Beccalynn over at “Makin’ It” is kicking off a free shipping diaper shops event today (well, yesterday) and the first diaper is… yeah. I want.

http://beccasclothdiaperblog.blogspot.com/2010/03/fuzzi-bunz-review-and-giveaway-from.html

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. amanda
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 16:18:52

    i love the fuzzi bunz perfect sized diapers, and have never tried their one size. or katydids. i do love the rump a rooz one sized diapers though!! it’s fun isn’t it?! who would’ve thought as a mom you’d be excited about a diaper huh? lol. it makes me giggle when i think about it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

